im-PREZI-ved – a tale of volition, if nothing else.

Just did my first presentation today for my IT8000 class under Dr. Brendan Calandra at GSU’s College of Education. Shared the session today with a colleague in class, Aaron, who teaches Math (and sometimes, English).

This elluminate thing is new to me but it does fairly well for online classes. Personally i still find the chat scrolling by way too fast since we do have essentially 20 people in the session. But it serves… Until the day when we can all have virtual helmets that transport us as resemblant avatars (complete with detailed facial and body language expressions), I feel the communication experience will always be missing something. However, online learning also has pros that can’t be denied. The pragmatic advantage being the release from physical presence which requires time, gas, navigation through traffic, etc. Having said that, those very aspects that one must go through to show up to class physically also serve to give the class its unique value. For now, my jury is still out on this topic.

Anyways, my presentation was on motivation (and volition). Along with Aaron, our two presentations were the first ones delivered. He did one on problem solving (I remember Polya) and that vid re cultures vs algorithm for design problem solving (I still think design problem solving will always yield variant results, even in physical and cultural context are identical). The item re gaming and its role-playing hook as an opportunity for learning was interesting. I can see the element of success in it, for me at least, stems from the involvement of the narrative and the storytelling or storymaking. However, how real-world the problem solving skills can be transferred from the game, i don’t know. For me, at the present moment, games are simulations. Even if their flowchart of their multiple variation scripts are sophisticated, it is still, in the end, a closed set of simulations. And the real world is anything but. Truth is always able to show how strange it can get, and fiction, like art, will always imitate life.

Getting back to my story. I have named this article “im-PREZI-ved” because I was impressed with the ease an old fogey like me was able to handle basic Prezi for this first presentation. Sorry powerpoint, i never liked ya. pfffft. I could scale in,out. I can fade stuff in. integrate video. Yes all basic stuff. (Did I mention i just learned this thing?) In any case, it served me well enough and I had fun.

The two days before, however, were hell. I could not make heads or tails of the many pdf readings I felt had potential interest. I had no real clue yet how to script the topic into a mode of relevance and fluidity. However, I knew that it would boil down to the value of using motivation strategically to facilitate an effective and hopefully enjoyable learning adventure that would transfer to be more autonomous within the learner. It is self-culture-building. And with it, from the self that is built, the many form to groups and later into societies. Yessirree, this motivation thing may look small, but its quiet song rings long and deep… Luckily, as I learned basic Prezi, i started laying content down, and it slowly formed its direction… whew… the zoom in and out, the inclusion of bullet points, and media, the panning to next frames. this basic set of options helped me naviagate my little boat home.

Ha! A Toast to Volition, Indeed!

I shall organize my thoughts better, along with some library loans, to write the paper out soon. I shall then also post that as another blog entry. Hopefully with videos. if not, with video links…

Thanks to the wonderful Robert Frost poetry performance (The Road not Taken) by the late Alan Bates, the compelling TEDtalk by Daniel Pink, and the snow sculptures of Calvin and Hobbes. Because Prezi had some streaming speed issues with elluminate, I deemed it not necessary to show the last poem delivered by Harvey Keitel. That should have been rethought… The poem, “Thinking” by Walter Wintle, identified with motivation of the self.

Oh i should’ve…

~ by bdytoc on September 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

